The Hon. Scott Morrison MP

Scott Morrison was sworn in as Prime Minister of Australia on 24 August 2018 after being elected leader of the Liberal Party. He was first elected as the Federal Member for Cook in 2007.

During his more than ten years in the parliament, the Prime Minister has established a reputation as a passionate advocate for his local community as well as a proven fixer for difficult policy problems in three senior Cabinet portfolios.

As Treasurer, his achievements included reducing the deficit, getting debt under control, maintaining Australia’s AAA credit rating, record jobs growth, cutting corporate and personal income taxes, ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax and reforming Australia’s banking and financial system.

As Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, he successfully stopped the boats. As Social Services Minister, he reduced abuse of the welfare system and put Australia’s social safety net on a more sustainable footing.

The Prime Minister is from the Sutherland Shire in Sydney’s south. He is married to Jenny and has two young daughters. He is a ‘netball dad’, a member of his local church, number one ticket holder of his beloved NRL Cronulla Sutherland Sharks and a big Tina Arena fan.


Local Office

the cook electorate

The Cook electorate is named after Captain James Cook (1728–79), the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.

The Cook electorate covers an area of approximately 94sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Sylvania and Gymea Bay in the west and from Kyle Bay, Monterey and Botany Bay in the north to Dents Creek and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Monterey, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Burraneer, Caringbah, Carss Park, Cronulla, Greenhills Beach, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kyle Bay, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point and Yowie Bay.

The electorate of Cook is in the local government area of Sutherland Shire Council, Kogarah City Council and Rockdale City Council.

The local state members of Parliament are Mark Speakman SC MP, Member for Cronulla, Eleni Petinos MP, Member for Miranda, Mark Coure MP, Member for Oatley, Chris Minns MP, Member for Kogarah and Steve Kamper MP, Member for Rockdale.

Stay connected with Scott as the Federal Member for Cook

Keep informed on issues, events and announcements happening in the Cook Electorate. Subscribe to our newsletter today.