For all the updated information regarding Covid-19 click here

Cook Community Awards – 12 November

I am always overwhelmed each year when I present the annual Cook Awards. Recognising the exceptional service of volunteers in our Cook community.
These annual awards provide an opportunity to recognise the people who give up their time to selflessly contribute and serve our local community. Volunteers in our charities, schools, RSLs, surf lifesaving and emergency services, sporting clubs, churches, aged care and our local hospitals or just helping those less privileged or those who have fallen on hard times.
I was delighted to award this years Cook Community Medal to Kathryn Wakelin for her contribution through Levi’s Project.
Together with her husband, Ben Wheeler, and family friends, Kathryn initiated Levi’s project in conjunction with the Children’s Cancer Institute at Randwick, to raise funds for research into paediatric brain cancer after her own son Levi was diagnosed in December 2017 and passing 372 days later.
With the support of her husband, Ben, Kathryn spends many evenings and weekends organising events, maintaining the website and social media for Levi’s Project. Many of these events are supported by the wonderful community here in The Shire.
Levi’s Project funds world-leading research and clinical trials at Children’s Cancer Institute for kids with DIPG and brain cancer. $4 million has been raised so far since its inception in 2019.
2022 Cook Community Award recipients are
John Altham – Mary MacKillop: Used stamps appeal
Merla Ayres – Cronulla Community Cafe
Megan Barnes – Pancreatic Cancer Matters
James Brown – St Aloysius Catholic Parish of Cronulla
Valerie Brown – Miranda RSL Sub-Branch – Captain Cook Day Club
Cameron Burne – Port Hacking Little Athletics Centre
Christine Callinan  – Bay Babes
Robyn Cameron – Zonta Club of Botany Bay Inc & Dandelion Services
George Capsis – Community Outreach Ministries Inc
Sharon Collon – The Functional Family
Shaun Cronin – Lions Club of Cronulla Inc
Sue Cunningham – Giants Baseball
Dunstan De Souza -St Aloysius Catholic Parish of Cronulla
Denis Derrig – Mater Dei Catholic Church
Martin Dillon – Cronulla Sutherland District Council – Surf Life Saving
Beverley Earnshaw, OAM – Kogarah Historical Society
Chelsea Farrugia – St Aloysius Catholic Parish of Cronulla
Marie Ficarra – St Aloysius Catholic Parish of Cronulla
Ron Griffiths – Lilli Pilli Football Club
Alison Heffernan – Caringbah Public School
Rhonda Holt – Liberal Party of Australia
Diane Jacobs – Kurnell Village Fair & Carols & Kurnell Girl Guides
Janet Kent – Cronulla RSL 55s & Over Group
Bill Lewis, OAM – Miranda Community Garden
Diana Lozell – Caringbah Comets Netball Club
Stephanie Mallios – Carlton Rovers FC
Julie McKinnery – North Cronulla Surf Lifesaving Club
Steven Mead – Elouera Surf Life Saving Club Inc
Robyn Norton – DOS Taekwondo
Graeme & Julie Patterson – Dandelion Support Network
Cory Rinaldi – Cronulla RSL Sub-Branch
Mark Sargeant – Wanda Surf Life Saving Club Inc.
Sonya Sarkis – Sweet Dreams Foundation
Cameron Simpson – Elouera SLSC
Glenn Simpson – Cronulla Water Polo
Kerryn Stearman – Yowie Bay Public School P&C
Lauren Stewart – St George and Sutherland Shire Giants Baseball Club
Joshua Summers – Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Parish
Stephen Trembath – St Aloysius Catholic Parish of Cronulla
Denise Turner – South Cronulla Bowling & Recreation Club
Madeline Tynan Davey – Michael Tynan Challenge
Kathryn Wakelin – Levi’s Project