For all the updated information regarding Covid-19 click here.   For my latest media as Prime Minister click here.

Funding for Australia’s natural wonders

1 March 2018

Australia’s natural wonders will share in $47.4 million in Turnbull Government funding as part of our ongoing support for our World Heritage listed properties.

The funding provides certainty for treasures such as the Tasmanian Wilderness, Wet Tropics and Greater Blue Mountains world heritage areas by allocating funding from 2018-19 to 2022-23 for their management. It forms part of our investment of $1 billion in phase two of the National Landcare Program.

It consists of:

  • $25.5 million for Tasmania: for the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area
  • $15.4 million for Queensland: $13.5 million for the Wet Tropics of Queensland, $725,000 for Fraser Island, $725,000 for the Australian Fossil Mammal Sites – Riversleigh and $450,000 for Gondwana Rainforests
  • $3.91 million for NSW: $1.65 million for Willandra Lakes Region, $925,000 for the Greater Blue Mountains, $885,000 for Lord Howe Island Group and $450,000 for Gondwana Rainforests
  • $2.1 million for WA: $700,000 for Shark Bay, $700,000 for Ningaloo Coast and $700,000 for Purnululu National Park
  • $500,000 for SA: for the Australian Fossil Mammal Sites – Naracoorte

These beautiful places tell the story of our planet in their plants, animals and geology. They are of global importance. But they are also places we hold dear in our hearts. They are symbols of Australia, captured in our family photo albums and projected to the world as emblems of our nation.

This funding will help site managers protect, conserve and present the World Heritage values of their properties. It will also help their local communities, by improving visitor facilities, interpretation and promotion of the sites. It will be delivered through state governments with jurisdiction over these sites.

The Turnbull Government provides other separate funding to other World Heritage areas listed for their natural values, including the Great Barrier Reef, Kakadu National Park and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Macquarie Island and the Heard and McDonald Islands Group.